Every Thought I’ve Had While Reading Young Adult Novels

I’ll preface this all by saying that I have never gotten into YA. I am not sure why, but I just struggle with it. Which is ridiculous. There are great writers doing fascinating things across YA but I am just easily bored by it all.  However, in my “100 Books by the End of the Year Challenge” I have given myself, I’m trying to read outside my comfort zone. My comfort zone does not include contemporary young adult fiction. So please leave me YA book recommendations in the comments. Please. I don’t know what to read.

Now, on to the snark.

First person, wonderful, I think, my mind reeking of sarcasm and italics.

Was this anyone’s high school experience? Alternatively: Was this anyone’s college experience?

Ah, they must be the love interest. They’ve got so much quirk. The quirkiest even.

How does anyone see through their perfectly disheveled hair?

Every Certified Young Adult™  lives in New York or wants to live in New York.

How can anyone be this disaffected at thirteen years old?

Never mind, I remember myself at thirteen.

The new person at school also known as: Plot Device.

Do you only go to school when Plot Device shows up?

You can tell she is cool. Her name is gender neutral.

No, he isn’t literally the next door neighbor. He can’t be. Yep, he is.

Aww, Plot Device is sad.

Mental illness isn’t a quirk. Stop it.

Neither is stalking.

Where are your parents?

Listen to your parents.

Oh, they’re dead. Or divorced. Or conspicuously absent.

Go see a counselor. Don’t lie to them.

I was so close to being a YA protagonist growing up: brown hair, hazel eyes, one dead parent, slightly taller than average, general level of awkward, extensive interior monologues. I just needed to work on my level of quirk.

This world has no introverts.

Why do lines like “I’m not like all those other girls with their makeup and boyfriends” exist?

Stop vilifying people for their fashion choices. What’s wrong with you? Let them wear their makeup. Let them wear their fandom shirts. And, gasp, let them wear both.

It’s ok to be single.

Did that character just quote an absurdly esoteric and unknown poet, philosopher, etc.? Answer: Yes.

THE QUIRK STIFLES ME.

Where are you getting your money? Right, everyone is upper middle class. What was I thinking?

It’s ok not to know what to do with your life. You are fifteen.

Why don’t you have homework?

Mom, you are welcome for apparently being the most boring teenager in the world.

Why does no one make healthy life choices? Ever. I know it’s for Conflict and The Plot, but every once in a while won’t break the narrative.

BROODING.

I am not satisfied by that ending.

… Why is this so compelling?

Author: authorialfuries

A literary dragon hoarding words like treasures.

5 thoughts on “Every Thought I’ve Had While Reading Young Adult Novels”

  1. I love your blog posts, but will take exception with your first thought here. I myself am writing my fantasy series in first person, and gave found it to be the best way to convey the story. I believe in each to their own, but i wouldn’t totally dismiss this point-of-view. And there really are some great YA reads…but I tend to not read contemporary books. I see the best YA in the fantasy or historical genres.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, great things can be done with first person. Absolutely. I would not dismiss it out of hand. I’m writing a contemporary fantasy myself at the moment and a lot of the tone of the book would be lost if I swapped it into third.

      I am mostly curious about reading some YA that pulls back from first person since that is used so often for that age group. I want to read some third person omniscient, or even some second person.

      Like

      1. Ah, gotcha. Yeah, I think it’s quite overused in the contemporary YA setting. Maybe it’s so the main character can be more whiney? Lol. It does get old, that whole genre. Most of what I have liked recently have been urban fantasy and supernatural.

        Like

Leave a Reply

