A Nanowrimo Confession

*whispers* I’ve never done Nanowrimo.

Despite having written for over half of my life, I’ve never tried dipping my toes in the boiling waters of Nanowrimo. Probably because I think it will scald me. I am not born of the dragon. I prefer cold winter storms— the wind whipping up my words across a desolate plain of unbroken snow. I’m not sure where I was going with that metaphor. What I do know is that Nano is not my jam. It’s not how I write. It’s not how I think.

I will allow this terribly drawn graph to show you why.

Thank you, MS Paint.
Thank you, MS Paint.

I write at a pretty average clip for fiction anywhere between 500-1,000 words a day until suddenly I don’t. Somewhere around the 2/3 mark, things get… weird. Suddenly I have approximately two days where the last 15,000- 20,000 words of the story spew forth in a haze of sleeplessness and coffee that ends with me curled up in a blanket burrito. I’m not saying that those are the perfect 20,000 words. Far from it. Those chapters are the epitome of the “shitty first draft.”

However, writing 2,000 words a day freaks me out. That is about the length of my average chapter. I need time to breath. I need time from day to day to consider the actions and reactions of the characters. I am fueled by time as much as caffeine.

But that’s just me. Don’t let my ramble deter you. Nanowrimo is a great exercise to get you writing everyday. It gives you a discernible goal and writing community. Writing can be a lonely act. You are alone with only your words, your mind, and your own insecurities. Nanowrimo lets you know you aren’t alone.

With all of this in mind, I’ve got my own plans this November. Instead of starting yet another story I decided to focus on the rewrite of Tumultuous Awakening— the sequel to Stone Spoken DreamsMaybe I’ll finally finish it this month with all of the encouraging words from other writerly friends. Here’s to Nano(re)wrimo.

Write.

Write as only you can.

Good luck this month, fellow wordsmiths!

Author: authorialfuries

A literary dragon hoarding words like treasures.

Leave a Reply

